Course on 4G Long Term Evolution

LTE, LTE-A, StudyDays

Created by Ivan Stupia, last modified at August 26, 2014, at 08:14 AM

18/19 September 2014, Maxwell Building (Shannon Room), Place du Levant 3, Louvain la Neuve, Belgium [Registration Form]

Duration: 2 Days

Abstract: The adoption of LTE (Long Term Evolution) by major operators in the world makes it de facto standard for the next decade. The course is intended to provide the basics of LTE (Long Term Evolution) and LTE-A. It will go in detail through the air-interface, explain the different protocols as well as their advantages and drawbacks.

Instructor: Mérouane Debbah

Bio: Mérouane Debbah entered the Ecole Normale Supérieure de Cachan (France) in 1996 where he received his M.Sc and Ph.D. degrees respectively. He worked for Motorola Labs (Saclay, France) from 1999-2002 and the Vienna Research Center for Telecommunications (Vienna, Austria) until 2003. From 2003 to 2007, he joined the Mobile Communications department of the Institut Eurecom (Sophia Antipolis, France) as an Assistant Professor. Since 2007, he is a Full Professor at Supelec (Gif-sur-Yvette, France). From 2007 to 2014, he was director of the Alcatel-Lucent Chair on Flexible Radio. Since 2014, he is Vice-President of the Huawei France R&D center and director of the Mathematical and Algorithmic Sciences Lab. His research interests are in information theory, signal processing and wireless communications. From 2011 to 2014, He was an associate and then senior area editor for IEEE Transactions on Signal Processing. He is now an Associate Editor in Chief of the journal Random Matrix: Theory and Applications. Mérouane Debbah is a recipient of the ERC grant MORE (Advanced Mathematical Tools for Complex Network Engineering). He is a WWRF fellow and a member of the academic senate of Paris-Saclay. He is the recipient of the Mario Boella award in 2005, the 2007 IEEE GLOBECOM best paper award, the Wi-Opt 2009 best paper award, the 2010 Newcom++ best paper award, the WUN CogCom Best Paper 2012 and 2013 Award, the 2014 WCNC best paper award as well as the Valuetools 2007, Valuetools 2008, CrownCom2009 , Valuetools 2012 and SAM 2014 best student paper awards. In 2011, he received the IEEE Glavieux Prize Award and in 2012, the Qualcomm Innovation Prize Award.